Delicate

heartforpoemdelicate

My heart broke in pieces
As I watched him
Passionately kiss her
I was not what he needed

I used to be his only
The one he cuddled at night
But things changed suddenly
We always had to fight

Gone for hours
He left me behind
Our relationship soured
He became more unkind

His words were negative
His touch turned cold
I was delicate
Easy to break and control

He knew this so he kept
Pushing and pulling me in
It was hard to accept
He was touching her skin

I tried to run away
But he tied me down
Threatened to slay
If I attempted to leave town

Now I sit alone in bed
Scared what will happen next
Hanging on a thread
I am his unloved object.

3 thoughts on “Delicate

  1. Hi when I look back over my life to how much time I grieved and wasted over certain relationships it makes me want to kick myself. My mom used to say we enter relationships seeking but if it isn’t truly there seek somewhere else. Sometimes all we need is space to look at it from another angle. and I believe it’s really good to get it out in poems, journals, movement, even in art. It releases our souls, heals them so someone else can venture in. You write beautifully even though it’s a hard subject. hang in there. T.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

